top of page

Six tastes chutney

The Ayurvedic diet places great emphasis on taste, recognising six distinct tastes that each serve a unique function in the body: sweet, sour, salty, pungent, bitter, and astringent. To achieve optimal health, it is recommended to include all six tastes in every meal.

Personally, I used to struggle to incorporate all six tastes into my diet, particularly sour, which doesn't always agree with me. However, I have found that chutneys and pickles can be a great way to balance out the tastes in my meals.

This recipe is incredibly easy to make, requiring only a blender and five minutes of your time. Best of all, it can be customized to your liking by adjusting the amount of lemon, ginger, or coriander.


- Sweet: 2 tablespoons raisins (soaked for 1 hour) and

- Sour: ½ teaspoon of lemon juice

- Salty: ½ teaspoon of salt

- Pungent: 1 inch (2.5cm) piece of fresh ginger

- Bitter: ¼ cup fresh coriander leaves

- Astringent: 1 green apple (seeded, peeled and chopped)


Simply blend all the ingredients until smooth and adjust the seasoning to your liking. It pairs well with sandwiches and can be stored in the fridge for up to two days.

As an extra challenge, I encourage you to observe the tastes in your diet and take note of which taste predominates and when you crave it. This can be a valuable tool in learning what your body needs. In future discussions, we can delve deeper into the unique functions of each taste.

bottom of page